A view of the courthouse in Bathurst, New South Wales.

Conservation Volunteers Board Member Shortlisted for 2016 Bathurst Macquarie Heritage Medal

30 years of commitment to Australia’s natural heritage

David Clark, member of Conservation Volunteers Australia's board and shortlisted for the Bathurst Macquarie Heritage Medal 2016.

Conservation Volunteers Australia’s board member David Clark has been committed to natural heritage conservation for over thirty years.  Last week, he was honoured by being shortlisted for the 2016 Bathurst Macquarie Heritage Medal.

In his time with us, David originally started as a volunteer, then went on to work on numerous projects including helping to deliver our volunteer programs for the Anzac commemoration at Gallipoli.  He has served on our Board of Directors since 1984, including as chair, and currently serves as treasurer.

Each year over 10,000 volunteers take an active part in caring for Australia’s natural heritage through Conservation Volunteers Australia, and David’s influence and leadership in education and policy development has been an integral part of this success.

Beyond Conservation Volunteers, David is the self-employed owner/manager of a 500ha farm in central Victoria, serves as Mayor on his local council, and, through his work as a Churchill Fellow, worked on developing Victoria’s catchment management framework. David has been recognised as a pioneer in developing meaningful landholder engagement on projects, which is acknowledged as best practice in land management.

David Clark kneeling next to a van bearing the logo of the Australian Trust for Conservation Volunteers

David Clark on a project with Conservation Volunteers in the 1980s.

The Bathurst Macquarie Heritage Medal

Bathurst Macquarie Heritage Medal logo

Established in 2015 to celebrate the bicentenary of the city of Bathurst in the Central Tablelands of NSW, the Bathurst Macquarie Heritage Medal recognises Australians who demonstrate a significant contribution to the protection or promotion of Australia’s built, social, cultural or environmental heritage.

The winner of the award receives $25,000 in order to further their work in promoting and protecting Australia’s heritage.

Some of Australia’s leaders in heritage and conservation, recognised alongside David Clark in the shortlist of finalists, include:

  • Christine Johnston, an Honorary Research Fellow with the Cultural Heritage Centre for Asia-Pacific at Deakin University and principal of a private consultancy, Context, which works across community, Indigenous, natural and historic domains.
  • Professor Robyn Sloggett, Director of the Grimwade Centre for Cultural Materials Conservation at Melbourne University where she manages the diverse conservation, teaching and research programs of the Centre.
  • Elizabeth Vines OAM, a specialist heritage conservation architect through her practice McDougall & Vines. She is passionate about heritage town rejuvenation breathing life back into traditional town centres which have become run down and lacking economic viability.

The award will be announced at a ceremony in Bathurst on Saturday 7th May, as part of the city’s Heritage Week. The special guest speaker at the event is 2015 Medal winner Duncan Marshall, who will deliver an address about what the award has enabled him to achieve this past year.  Tickets are currently available from the Bathurst Macquarie Heritage Medal website, if you would like to join the city of Bathurst in honouring David and the other shortlisted finalists.