Board Members

David Clark – Chair

David Clark, Conservation Volunteers Australia Board MemberDavid has qualifications in agriculture and rural development and is the self-employed owner/manager of a 500 hectare farm in central Victoria and project manager for several landcare groups. David completed the Williamson Community Leadership Program in 1992, a Churchill Fellowship in 1994 and the Australian Rural Leadership program in 1997. David is currently a Pyrenees Shire Councillor, having served in the same role from 1996-2004, and as Mayor in 2003-04 and 2009-10. He is also an inaugural member and Chair of the North Central CMA Board, a member of the Victorian Catchment Management Council, and has been a Board Member at Conservation Volunteers since 1984.


Phil Harrison – CEO

Phil Harrison CEO and Board Member of Conservation VolunteersBorn in the UK, Phil attained a 1st Class Hons degree in Management Studies before embarking on a career pathway in the business world. In his early 20s, Phil saw the light and chose to follow his passion for environment volunteering by joining Conservation Volunteers. Over the subsequent 30 years, Phil has worked with Conservation Volunteers across the country as a volunteer, team leader, Regional Manager, State Manager, National Program Manager, Director of Corporate and Government Partnerships and National Coordinator of major initiatives such as Green Corps and Green Army. Phil became CEO of Conservation Volunteers in July 2017 and his leadership combines a comprehensive and deep experience of the organisation with a continuing passion for conservation volunteering and a clear vision for its exciting future.


Darryl Argall

Darryl Argall farmed for 40 years, retiring from active farming in 2010. Elected inaugural MayDarryl Argallor of Hindmarsh Shire Council in 1997, Darryl spent 12 years on council. He was board member and rural vice president of the Municipal Association of Victoria for 8 years, served 2 years on the Australian Local Government Board and 12 years on the Wimmera Catchment Management Authority. Darryl helped establish the Hindmarsh Landcare Network in 1997 and is currently chair. He joined the Little Desert Flora and Fauna Foundation and Little Desert Lodge’s board for 10 years until gifting it to Conservation Volunteers Australia in 2012. Darryl was inducted into Swinburne University’s Hall of Fame in 2008, and was awarded an Australia Medal in 2010 for work in community development, environmental management and the water industry.


Susan Campbell, OAM

Susan Campbell is a qualified Landscape Architect and Director of Susan Susan Campbell, Conservation Volunteers Australia board memberCampbell Landscape Architects since 1964; she was the Chief of the L.A. Albury-Wodonga Development Corporation for 15 years. Projects Susan has completed include farm planning, urban design, large scale landscape projects and urban forestry. Susan has been an environmental farmer for 45 years, having won among others the Victorian Press Club Landcare award and the Victorian Sustainable Farm award. Susan has served on a number of government and NGO boards involved with landcare and sustainable development. Susan has taken part on volunteer projects in China, Uganda, America and Australia, and has been a Board Member of Conservation Volunteers Australia since 1984. In the 2015 Australia Day honours list, Susan was awarded Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to conservation and the environment.


Jonathan Chew

Jonathan Chew, Conservation Volunteers Australia board memberJonathan’s expertise is in public policy development, market analysis, strategy and evaluation. As Director at the Nous Group and Principal of The Knowledge Partnership, Jon works extensively with governments, universities and training organisations to understand and meet student, community and industry expectations, both in Australia and overseas. In 2008 and again in 2011, Jonathan worked with Professor Ross Garnaut on the Garnaut Climate Change Review, where he worked on innovation, energy and adaptation policy. Jonathan joined the Conservation Volunteers Board in 2011.


Geoff Gay

Geoff Gay is a senior manager in EnergyAustralia’s business development teGeoff Gay 0001669am, with a focus on a sustainable future for Yallourn power station and mine. Utilising Victoria’s coal resource in a sustainable manner is a key challenge for EnergyAustralia, and Geoff is responsible for assessing a range of technologies and projects to achieve EnergyAustralia’s objectives. Prior to working for EnergyAustralia, Geoff spent 7 years at UBS Investment Bank, working in mergers and acquisitions in Australia and the United States, followed by 3 years in the Victorian Government in commercial roles. Geoff joined the Conservation Volunteers Australia board in 2012.


Karin Lorenzon

Karin’s experience includes senior roles with national and global accountability with Rio Tinto in external relations and human resources. Karin LorenzonShe has also held senior management positions in human resources and consulting with PriceWaterhouse Coopers. Karin has developed many successful stakeholder communications programs and has a wealth of experience in working with the corporate sector, government and non profit organisations. She has expertise in sustainability and social investment, communications, employee engagement, diversity programs, career development and mentoring, as well as recruitment, performance management and consulting. Karin joined the Conservation Volunteers Board in 2013.


Alison Crook, AO

Now involved as Chairperson in establishing Enova Community Energy Ltd – Australia’s first community-owned energy retailer – Alison has Alison Crookhad an interesting and varied career. She has managed to fit in such diverse roles as: tutor in philosophy (Flinders Uni), Australian Volunteer International in PNG, community liaison officer in Gunpowder (NW Qld), State Librarian (NSW), Director General State & Regional Development (NSW), Exec Dir Operations Serco Asia Pacific & MD Serco Transport Services, and Deputy Vice Chancellor Resources Monash University. Along the way she has been named as Australian Business Woman of the Year, and Australian Business Leader of the Year (Professions), been awarded an AO for services to public administration and a Centenary Medal for services to business. She has served on some 17 boards in both private and public sectors including IBM Australia, Lend Lease Corporate Financial Services, St James Ethics Centre and Australian Volunteers International.


Michael Wilson

Michael is a senior executive whose role is Group Health Safety and Environment Director with Boral Limited. Prior to joining Boral, M WilsonMichael held senior roles in the area of Health, Safety, Environment, Quality and Security for The Linde Group in Europe and Africa from 2008 to 2013 and BOC Limited in Australia from 2001 to 2008. Michael’s experience also extends to senior environmental and safety roles with Normandy Mining, the Federal Environment Department and the Department of Defence (Army).  Michael has a Bachelor of Applied Science degree from Deakin University, a Master of Environmental Engineering Science from UNSW and a Diploma in Company Direction (UK). He is a Member of the Institute of Occupational Safety and Health (UK), the Institute of Directors (UK), the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Chartered Chemist (RACI).




Share this page:
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInShare on Google+Email this to someone